1) What is the President Selection and Inspection Committee?

NAIST's President Selection and Inspection Committee (hereinafter referred to as "Committee") is an organization that selects the President of the National University Corporation Nara Institute of Science and Technology (hereinafter referred to as "President"), requests the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) to dismiss the President, and deliberates the following matters:

  1. Matters regarding the establishment, revision, or abolition of the President Selection Regulations and the President Dismissal Regulations
  2. Matters regarding the criteria related to President selection
  3. Matters regarding the President's term
  4. Matters related to confirming the status of execution of the President's duties
  5. Matters related to the appointment of Executive Director for university management
  6. Other matters necessary for the Committee

2) Committee members

The ten members of the Committee are selected from the Administrative Council and the Education and Research Council, with five members being selected from each council.
The current members of the Committee are as follows.

Members from the Administrative Council
  • TESHIROGI Isao, Representative Director, President and CEO, Shionogi & Co., Ltd.
  • ASAMI Toru, President, Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute International (ATR)
  • GOTO Keiko, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, Nara Women's University
  • BANDO Kumiko, Governor, Japanese Red Cross Society
  • FUJISAWA Kumi, Chairperson, Institute for International Socio-Economic Studies
Members from the Education and Research Council
  • ODANI Naokazu, Executive Director and Director General, NAIST
  • HIROTA shun, Dean, NAIST
  • YASUMOTO keiichi, Vice Dean, NAIST
  • BESSHO Yasumasa, Vice Dean, NAIST
  • TANEIKE Manabu, Director, Health Care Center, NAIST

3) President Selection at NAIST

The Committee has established the Criteria for President Selection as selection criteria for the President. The selection of candidates for President is carried out based on this criteria, with careful and necessary discussions under the authority and responsibility of the Committee, with reference to the results of a vote of NAIST's members.
Please see the public announcements below for the background and reasons for the selection of the current President (SHIOZAKI Kazuhiro, term of office: April 1, 2021 - March 31, 2025).

4) Confirmation of the Status of Execution of the President's Duties

The Committee confirms the status of execution of the President's duties and provides the evaluation results based on this confirmation to the President every year.
The specific method is to confirm and evaluate the status after conducting interviews with the President and the Auditor.